The Yoga Centre ~ Mission Beach

Iyengar Yoga at Mission Beach

Yoga-mission-beach-Extend-your- arms
Extend your arms

Learn to focus on the precision and alignment of yoga asanas (poses); based on antomical principles, they are renowed aspects of Iyengar yoga. Yoga benefits every body and with the use of props (invented by BKS Iyengar) to modify classical poses, all can practice yoga

Classes at …

The Progress Community Hall,

53 Porters Promenade.

click here for times:

There is a Beginner class and General Level classes.

A Remedial class suitable for all levels is also offered and Private classes can be arranged. 

*Mats and all yoga equipment are provided.

*Both men and women of any age and level of fitness will benefit from an Iyengar yoga class.

How to get there…

Heading north on Porters Promenade, turn right into the caravan park on the beach, turn left into the car park…..the Progress Community hall is straight ahead.

THE TEACHER is Jan Watson, a registered JI 2 Iyengar yoga teacher. She is an experienced practitioner and has been teaching yoga 1991.

Marichyasana 2

Jan is inspired by yoga; by the physical improvements felt in body and the emotional steadiness practice creates. It is a boon to all of us as we age, keeping our outlook young, helping with injury and most importantly helping to still that ‘busy head’ ~ the mental flactuations of mind.

At times you will want to laugh, sometimes cry, sometimes you don’t want to practice at all. Other times there is just the wonder that again you get another ‘light bulb‘ moment.

As you keep coming back to practice, bit by bit your body and your thinking will change for the better.

Jan gives detailed instructions and teaches what she sees students are missing in their practice. Each pose is a means to discover where you are tight, strong, weak or dull.I

Iyengar Yoga: The ultimate source is from B.K.S. Iyengar of Puna, India. He wrote many books on yoga practice and philopopy, including ‘Light on Yoga’, ‘Light on Pranayama” and ‘Light on Life”.

His genius and willingness to share his knoweldge of yoga is gratefully respected. He developed his method based on the 8 limbs of yoga taught by Patanjali, 2,500 years ago.

The discoveries you will make through practicing yoga are in body, mind and spirit. This is yoga.

Join me for a yoga class and begin to change your life …
~ physically, emotionally and mentally.

Top Photo by Jeff Larson